[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Weinberg Faculty Award Honorees

Awarded Academic Year 2009-2010
Includes Weinberg College and University-wide Awards

E. LeRoy Hall Award for Teaching Excellence
Robert Orsi, Religious Studies

Weinberg College Distinguished Teaching Awards
Kathryn (Kasey) Evans, English
Paul Goerss, Mathematics
Thom McDade, Anthropology

Arts and Sciences Alumni Teaching Awards
Chyi Chung, Spanish and Portuguese
Eugene Kushnirsky, Mathematics

Weinberg College Award for Excellence in Mentoring Undergraduate Research
Joseph Lambert, Chemistry

Weinberg College Community Building Award
Mike Stein, Mathematics

Weinberg College Outstanding Graduate Student Teacher Awards
Sharon Dubois, Interdepartmental Neuroscience Program
Sarah Mann-O'Donnell, Comparative Literary Studies
Northwestern University Teaching Awards Presented to Weinberg Faculty

Charles Deering McCormick Professorship of Teaching Excellence
Indira Raman, Neurobiology and Physiology

Charles Deering McCormick University Distinguished Lectureship
Michael Smutko, Physics and Astronomy

Clarence L. Ver Steeg Graduate Faculty Award
Timothy Earle, Anthropology

The Weinberg College Teaching Awards applaud excellence in instruction, significant contributions to curricular innovation, exemplary mentoring of research and independent study, and fostering of a sense of community both inside and outside the classroom. Award recipients are nominated by students and faculty, selected by Weinberg's student-faculty Committee on Teaching Awards and approved by the Dean.

The McCormick and Alumnae Teaching Professorships recognize individual faculty members throughout Northwestern University who have consistently demonstrated outstanding performance in classroom teaching or who have developed significant innovations influencing the methods and teaching effectiveness of other faculty. Nominations are made by the deans of the schools and college, selected by a committee of senior faculty chaired by the Provost, and recommended to the President and the Board of Trustees for approval.

The Clarence L. Ver Steeg Graduate Faculty Award recognizes outstanding Northwestern faculty who have given tirelessly of their time to mentor graduate students and develop outstanding programs.

Faculty Teaching Award Winners 2009-2010
Back row, from left: Eugene Kushnirsky, Sharon Dubois, Paul Goerss, Robert Orsi, Thom McDade and Sarah Mann-O'Donnell; front row, from left: Mike Stein, Chyi Chung, Dean Sarah Mangelsdorf, Kathryn (Kasey) Evans and Joseph Lambert.

Shakespeare Garden
[an error occurred while processing this directive]